Caprock Canyons State Park & Trailway
Also known as Caprock Canyons State Park
- Status
- Open (per official listing)Open daily; hours not posted
- Entrance fee
- $5 per adultAnnual pass available
- Day-use reservations
- RecommendedCan reach capacity
- Dogs
- Statewide rule — see below
- Camping
- 100 campsites
- Official site
- tpwd.texas.gov(806) 455-1492
Official page last checked Oct 29, 2026. Details last changed Oct 29, 2026. How we keep this current
Current alerts 2
Alert No Hot WaterThe Honey Flat campground shower is without hot water. Check back for updates.
Posted by the park. Official alert
Alert Bison SafetyJuly 27, 2026 - During rutting season (May through September), use extra caution around bison. Never stand between a bull and cows and always stay at… (more)
July 27, 2026 - During rutting season (May through September), use extra caution around bison. Never stand between a bull and cows and always stay at least 50 yards away for your safety. Lake Closures April 10, 2026 - The boat ramp, fishing pier and swimming area are closed due to the low lake level. Swimming is still allowed in the lake. Park Closures The park will be closed on the following dates: • 4 p.m. on Dec. 7 to 2 p.m. Dec. 11 • 4 p.m. on Dec. 14 to 2 p.m. Dec. 18 • 4 p.m. on Dec. 18 to 2 p.m. Dec. 23 Only permitted hunters will be allowed on these dates. Water Quality Advisory Oct. 21, 2025 - The park has detected higher than normal nitrate levels in its water system. Infants under 6 months, pregnant women, and people with specific health concerns should plan on bringing water when visiting the park. Note: Boiling water does not remove nitrates. Check back for updates.
Posted by the park. Official alert
Overview

Caprock Canyons State Park & Trailway is a 15,314-acre park in Briscoe County, about 41 miles east of Plainview.
The park supports horseback riding, mountain biking, canoeing and kayaking, boating, and swimming. The official site lists about 90 miles of trails. Facilities for water recreation include a boat ramp and a fishing pier. Camping is available: 100 campsites across 8 camping areas, including RV sites with electric and water hookups, tent sites, primitive or hike-in sites, and showers.
Hours
Park, gate, office and facility hours are listed separately because they often differ. Alerts above override normal hours.
| Facility | Days | Hours | Season |
|---|---|---|---|
| Park | Open daily (hours not posted) | ||
| Office | Not stated | 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. | — |
| Not stated | noon – 1 p.m. | — | |
Official wording
Open daily.
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. (Closed noon - 1 p.m.) We often reach capacity and highly recommend reservations for both camping and day use. To guarantee entry, reserve passes online or by calling the customer service center before you visit.
Source: official park page, checked Oct 29, 2026. Times are local to the park (America/Chicago).
Pets
Pets must be on a leash no longer than 6 feet at all times and are not permitted in any buildings at Texas State Parks. Some parks restrict pets on certain trails.
Statewide rule from Texas's park system (source). This park’s page doesn’t state its own pet rules, so check for local restrictions.
Fees and passes
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Adult | $5 |
| Child 12 Years and Under | Free |
| Group - Adult | $3 |
Official wording
• Adult: $5 Daily • Child 12 Years and Under: Free • Group - Adult: $3 Daily
Texas park passes
- Texas State Parks Pass — $70 per year. Free entry for the holder and guests at the state parks it covers, plus camping and store discounts; a second pass for someone at the same address is $25 Details
- Texas Parklands Passport. Discounted or free entry for qualifying seniors, people with disabilities, veterans and Gold Star family members Details
From the Texas state guide. Confirm which passes this park accepts.
Reservations
- Day use
- Recommended
- Camping
- Recommended
- Booking system
- Texas State Parks reservation system (ReserveAmerica)
- Phone
- (512) 389-8900
We often reach capacity and highly recommend reservations for both camping and day use.
We link to the official booking system rather than showing live availability, which changes minute to minute.
Camping
| Campground or site type | Sites | Hookups / features | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Campsites with Electricity (50 amp) These sites are in the Honey Flat Area. | 10 | Water hookup; 50 amp hookupPicnic tableFire ringShade shelterLantern postRestrooms nearby | $22 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
| Campsites with Electricity (30 amp) These sites are in the Honey Flat Area. | 25 | Water hookup; 30-amp electricPicnic tableFire ringRestrooms nearbyShade shelterLantern post | $17 Daily Plus daily entrance fee |
| Campsites with Water (Walk-in | Lake Theo) These walk-in sites are in the Lake Theo area. Parking is about 200 yards away. | 9 | Water nearbyPicnic tableFire ringShade shelterLantern postRestrooms nearby | $14 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
| Primitive Campsites (Walk-in | Little Red) Located in the Little Red Camping Area. Tent camping only. Walk in 10-30 yards from parking area. Bring your own water and carry out all trash. There are no showers. | 10 | Fire ring/grillCovered picnic tablesOrganic toilet | $14 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
| Primitive Campsites (Walk-in | South Prong) Located in the South Prong Camping Area. Tent camping only. Walk in 10-30 yards from parking area. You must bring your own water and carry out all trash. There are no showers. | 30 | Fire ring/grillOrganic toilets | $12 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
| Primitive Campsites (Hike-in) Located in the North Prong and South Prong Primitive Camping Areas. 16.3 miles of associated trails. | 16 | Bring drinking waterOne-mile hike to camping areaAll trash must be carried outPets allowed on leash onlyNo ground fires allowedComposting toilets nearby | $12 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
| Primitive Campsites (Hike-in | Along Trailway) Primitive camping is available along the length of the Trailway. | — | No potable water; Bring your own drinking waterSeven-mile minimum hike/bikeNo campfires allowedContainerized fuel stoves allowedAll trash must be carried outChemical restrooms available | $12 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
| Overflow Campsites | — | $10 Nightly Plus daily entrance fee |
Camping details from the park
Campsites range from drive up sites with electricity to hike-in primitive sites.. We also have equestrian campsites with corrals.
From the official park page, checked Oct 29, 2026. Site counts and prices can change; confirm when booking.
Things to do
BikingBoatingHorseback ridingHikingFishingMountain bikingCanoeing and kayakingPicnickingSwimmingCamping
Trails
Most of our nearly 90 miles of trails are open for hiking and biking. Trails range from easy (Mesa Trail) to very challenging (Haynes Ridge Overlook Trail). Lengths range from just over 1 mile to 15 miles. Only experienced bikers should ride the more difficult trails. Access the Trailway from the park or trailheads.
Take a virtual tour with our Interactive Park Trails and Trailway Map. Learn more on our Trails Information page.
Amenities
Facilities
- Restrooms
- Vault or pit toilets
- Showers
- Drinking water
- Picnic areas
- Playground
- Nature center or museum
- Park or camp store
- Restaurant or food service
- Wi-Fi
Water
- Boat ramp
- Fishing pier
Camping
- RV dump station
- Tent camping
- RV camping
- Electric hookups
- Water hookups
- Primitive or backcountry camping
Recreation
- Horse trails
✓ listed by the park · ✕ the park says it is not available. Anything not shown here isn’t mentioned by the official source — that means unknown, not unavailable.
Getting there
- Address
- 850 State Park Rd.
Quitaque, TX 79255 - Nearest town
- Plainview — about 41 mi east (straight line)
- Coordinates
- 34.4103, -101.0533
- Phone
- (806) 455-1492
- CaprockSP@tpwd.texas.gov
Nearby state parks
Sources and freshness
- Texas State Parks — park page — last checked Oct 29, 2026
- TPWD state parks map (embedded park data)
- Wikidata
- Photo: Palo Duro and Caprock Canyons, TX.png — Public domain (US federal government work), ISS Crew Earth Observations Facility and the Earth Science and Remote Sensing Unit, Johnson Space Center, NASA
“Last checked” is when our system last read the official source. “Last changed” (Oct 29, 2026) is when the information shown here last differed from the previous check. Hours, fees and rules can change without notice — confirm with the park before you go. Methodology