State Park

Picacho Peak State Park

Pinal County, ArizonaAbout 3,461 acresEstablished 1965
Status
Status not postedDaily 5 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Entrance fee
$10 per vehicleAnnual pass available
Day-use reservations
None mentioned
Dogs
Dogs allowed
Camping
Yes
Official site
azstateparks.com(520) 466-3183

Official page last checked Oct 29, 2026. Details last changed Oct 29, 2026. How we keep this current

Overview

OA-4M Skyhawk of H&MS-32 in experimental paint scheme — Picacho Peak State Park
OA-4M Skyhawk of H&MS-32 in experimental paint scheme — Picacho Peak State Park. Photo: U.S. Navy. Public domain (US federal government work)

Picacho Peak State Park is a 3,461-acre park in Pinal County, about 13 miles southeast of Eloy.

Popular activities here are winter sports, wildlife watching, and hiking. Overnight options include campsites, with RV sites, tent sites, and showers.

Hours

Park, gate, office and facility hours are listed separately because they often differ. Alerts above override normal hours.

FacilityDaysHoursSeason
ParkDaily5 a.m. – 8 p.m.—
Dailysunrise – sunset—
Visitor centerNot stated9 a.m. – 3 p.m.—
Not stated8 a.m. – 5 p.m.—
ParkHoliday Hours: Thanksgiving: Visitor Center closes at 2 p.m. Christmas: Closed Thanksgiving: Visitor Center closes at 2 p.m. Christmas: Closed
Entrance gateDaily5 a.m. – 8 p.m.—
Official wording

Park is open year-round from 5 a.m. - 8 p.m. (gates close) Trails are open from sunrise to sunset

Visitor Center/Park Store: May 2 - Sept. 25 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Sept. 26 - May 1 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Holiday Hours: Thanksgiving: Visitor Center closes at 2 p.m. Christmas: Closed Thanksgiving: Visitor Center closes at 2 p.m. Christmas: Closed

Park is open year-round from 5 a.m. - 8 p.m. (gates close)

Visitor Center/Park Store: May 2 - Sept. 25 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. Sept. 26 - May 1 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Holiday Hours: Thanksgiving: Visitor Center closes at 2 p.m. Christmas: Closed Thanksgiving: Visitor Center closes at 2 p.m. Christmas: Closed

Source: official park page, checked Oct 29, 2026. Times are local to the park (America/Phoenix).

Fees and passes

ItemAmount
Per vehicle (1 person)$10
Per vehicle (2-4 people)$20
Individual/bicycle$5 · walk-in
Official wording

Per vehicle (1 person): $10.00 Per vehicle (2-4 people): $20.00 Individual/bicycle: $5.00

Arizona park passes

  • Annual Day Use Pass — $200. Day-use access for up to four people at state parks across Arizona (with listed exceptions) Details
  • 100% Military Disabled Veterans pass — Free. Free day-use for 100% service-connected disabled veterans and up to three accompanying adults Details
  • Active duty / retired / service-disabled veteran discount — 50% off day-use. Day-use entrance discount (not tours or special fees) Details

From the Arizona state guide. Confirm which passes this park accepts.

Reservations

Day use
No day-use reservation requirement mentioned
Booking system
Arizona State Parks reservations (Tyler Technologies; reached via azstateparks.com/reserve/)
Phone
(877) 697-2757

Check availability and book

We link to the official booking system rather than showing live availability, which changes minute to minute.

Pets

Dogs allowed

An off-leash dog park is available for registered campers only. Keep pets on a leash. Clean up after your pet. • Keep pets on a leash. Clean up after your pet.

Service animals are generally permitted where pets are not. Check with the park for specific areas.

Camping

Camping & RV Sites Picacho Peak State Park’s campground has a total of 78 electric sites for both tent and RV camping. Sites are suitable for RVs and/or tents. No more than six adults and 10 people total per site. No more than two vehicles per site. Only one motorhome/RV per site. Four sites are accessible. No water or sewer hookups are available. Access to all sites is paved. Sites are fairly level and are located in a natural Sonoran Desert setting. Both back-ins and pull-throughs are available. No maximum size limit (except no tractor trailers allowed). All sites offer a picnic table and barbeque/fire ring. Many sites also offer ramadas, and some of the sites are handicapped-accessible. Use of the dump station is included in the price for camping. Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Generator use is not permitted. There are two modern, handicapped-accessible restroom and shower buildings available at no additional charge for campers. An off-leash dog park is available for registered campers only. It's located across the street from the entrance to A loop. Please pick up after your furry friends! Second Vehicle Fee: There will be a per night fee for second vehicles. The fee will be paid upon arrival at the park. The fee does not apply to vehicles towed behind a primary vehicle when the primary vehicle remains at the site and the towed vehicle is used for transportation. Important Note: Entrance gate is closed nightly from 8 p.m.-5 a.m. Trails are closed from sunset to sunrise. Campground Information Group Reservations: Camping All group camping areas are available only by reservation. Group reservations can be made up to one year in advance. To make group reservations, call the park directly. For more details and pictures of the areas, visit the Group SItes page.

From the official park page, checked Oct 29, 2026. Site counts and prices can change; confirm when booking.

Things to do

HikingWildlife viewing and birdingWinter sportsCamping

Trails

Hiking Trails Experience the very best the Sonoran desert has to offer right from our various hiking trails within the park. Choose strenuous or easy going options to suit your ability or mood. Please get a park map upon your arrival to find out where you can access this beautiful slice of desert and explore the trails.

Amenities

Facilities

  • Restrooms
  • Showers
  • Picnic areas
  • Visitor center
  • Park or camp store
  • Drinking water: not available (stated by the park)

Camping

  • RV dump station
  • Tent camping
  • RV camping

✓ listed by the park · ✕ the park says it is not available. Anything not shown here isn’t mentioned by the official source — that means unknown, not unavailable.

Accessibility

Accessible Day Use Areas Cholla Ramada: Four picnic tables and grills, water source. Maximum of 40 people. Wheelchair accessible. Electric (lighting and 110 volt outlets). Close proximity to parking, restrooms, hiking trails, and playground. $25.00 plus daily entrance fee. Ocotillo Ramada: Four picnic tables & grills, water source. Maximum of 40 people. Wheelchair accessible. Electric (lighting and 110 volt outlets). Close proximity to parking, restrooms, hiking trails, and playground. $25.00 plus daily entrance fee. Non-Accessible Day Use Areas Ironwood Ramada: Four picnic tables, group grill, fire ring & water source. Maximum capacity 30 people. Electric (lighting and 110 volt outlets). Close proximity to parking, restrooms, hiking trails. $25.00 plus daily entrance fee. Mesquite Ramada: Four picnic tables, grills. Maximum capacity 30 people. Not Wheelchair accessible. Electric (lighting and 110 volt outlets) & water source. Close proximity to parking, restrooms, hiking trails. $25.00 plus daily entrance fee.

Official accessibility information

Conditions change. Contact the park to confirm specific accessible features before your visit.

Rules and permits

Park Rules • Gates are closed from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. • Trails closed from sunset to sunrise. • Littering is unlawful. • Damaging or removing the natural rocks, vegetation, native wood, or public property is prohibited. • For your own safety, stay on designated trails. • Drive and park only on designated paved surfaces. DO NOT pull off on side of road. • Obey posted speed limits and all other signs. • Keep pets on a leash. Clean up after your pet. • Camping in designated areas only. • Quiet hours are observed 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. • Check out time for campers is 12 noon. Agency Rules & Regulations

Getting there

Address
P.O. Box 907
Eloy, AZ 85131
Nearest town
Eloy — about 13 mi southeast (straight line)
Coordinates
32.6461, -111.4014
Phone
(520) 466-3183

Google Maps directionsApple MapsOfficial park map (PDF)

Entrance gate: Daily 5 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Nearby state parks

Sources and freshness

“Last checked” is when our system last read the official source. “Last changed” (Oct 29, 2026) is when the information shown here last differed from the previous check. Hours, fees and rules can change without notice — confirm with the park before you go. Methodology

Report a correction for this park